Tags

Ever had those nights where you can’t sleep? You are stirred at 1 am and 3 am and so on… not for any specific reason that you are aware of but you just keep waking up… you look at the clock and snuggle yourself back into comfort telling yourself “I’m so tired” , “I need more sleep”.

Do you ignore it?

More often than not, it’s the Holy Spirit trying to wake you to heed His desire. Much of the darkness of this world happens through the night, while we are asleep.

I want to share something that happened a few weeks ago that was life changing for me. I am often woken through the night to pray, but since my third child I have ignored the Holy Spirit… sleep has been my whine, “But I need to sleep, I’m soooo tired and I have to get up at 5 am for work”. I spoke with a dear friend about it whining… “I just can’t get up”. She encouraged me to Just Do It (I’m sure she had been praying for this specifically for me). The very next time the Spirit woke me, I was empowered and ready!

It definitely wasn’t the opportune time but I was ready to answer the call. We were away at the Dude Ranch for our anniversary sleeping in a covered wagon. Yes, a covered wagon just like the ones on “Little House on the Prairie”… its called glorified camping 😉 Pete was snoring away and I was woken but this time was different, for some reason I reached for my phone and put on worship music… instantly my body was up and I put in my ear phones and started worshipping. I tried to sing and dance quietly as we weren’t the only ones at the ranch. Worship was off the hook, I worshipped for 2 hours and it felt like 5 minutes. I bounced and danced like never before and felt as if I wasn’t even moving, I wasn’t tired or out of breath and I didn’t need to stop… it was beautiful and effortless! I felt like I was flying, lost in the Spirit. Then it quickly stopped and I’m like… ummm one more song… please. I even tried to play one more song but instead was pressed to drop to my knees and wait, and I did. Instantly, I received a text message from a friend in need and the evening finished after comforting her to sleep!

See, we don’t always know until after the fact why the Holy Spirit leads us as He does, but know that its for His purposes and just be OBEDIENT 😌 no matter how silly or CRAZY it might seem. Think of the things we have already missed out on by not being obedient to the call.

And, if everything you’re doing doesn’t seem to be working… Worship! There’s no better way to improve, motivate, release, encourage… a situation than worshipping the one and only Almighty God!

What an amazing night that I will never forget and pray for more just like it! And to be honest, I didn’t even miss or need the sleep, I woke up bright eyed and ready.

By the way, the next morning Pete showed me how CRAZY the wagon was rocking while I worshipped…LOL Oh my Goodness!! I’m sure everyone thought I was CRAZY 😳
Psalm 27
Scriptures for sleepless nights:
http://old.settingcaptivesfree.com/home/Scripture_for_Sleepless_Nights.php
“When you can’t sleep, don’t count sheep. Talk to the Shepherd.”

