Tags

,

This is something we all desire, the perfect job…um career. Always anticipating the next level of achievement. Reaching higher and higher to the next thing or the next step. Wanting to be somewhere better than where we are…”this can’t be it for me”.

Contentment, is it possible?

We are always looking for something more, something we don’t have or not able to provide. We think the perfect job is going to answer all that for us and more. Everything will be better when I have that job, raise, that something.

1 Timothy 6:6 New International Version (NIV)

But godliness with contentment is great gain.

 Let me share a little personal story, and I pray that anyone going through the same thing doesn’t need 10 years to get it right 🙂 I’ll explain!

I was thrilled at the age 28 to finally be getting the “Job” of a lifetime! Benefits, pension… my career was finally going to take off, I was offered a fulltime permanent position at the hospital in the field I went to college for. The excitement wore off over time and after a year or so, for some reason, I got it in my head that I deserved more. The job I was doing was underpaid…lol   What was I thinking?! Now technically, it really was underpaid, but aren’t we all. Where was my contentment, where was my thankfulness? I didn’t have any and I didn’t know our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ either. A long story short, I pursued a job re-class and union involvement with the wrong heart and attitude. It only ended in more upset and trouble on my end… but there is a happy ending.

I went off of work on Maternity leave during this whole ordeal that I created and during my time off, I found JESUS! By the time I returned to work, I was a new person 🙂 Returning to work was hard after the mess I created, but I found my strength in Christ. I was ready to show my job, co-workers and especially my bosses that I had changed for the better. It took two minutes for me to write an apology letter which I sent to my bosses immediately when I returned, but it took years to restore relationships. Lesson learned! But I still had more growing to do and much to learn. For years I tried to get out of that position by applying (behind my boss’ backs) to all kinds of jobs… and I’m sure you could guess, I didn’t even get an interview…lol

After years of discontentment and doing all the wrong things in my own strength, I learned to trust God and be content with where I was. And I really was, I was ok with it if I never moved positions again. I gave God control of my job, promotion and finances! I let Him lead me each step of the way; in approaching my bosses about looking for more challenge and finances through my work with the right heart and attitude… humble. I also learned to say yes to all the demands of my job with a smile and the right heart to go along with it. I learned to not give attitude or talk behind anyone’s back, to not gossip or participate in gossip. I learned to speak kind uplifting words to others and to go above and beyond what was required.

Job 36:11 New International Version (NIV)

11 If they obey and serve him,
    they will spend the rest of their days in prosperity
    and their years in contentment.

God restored the relationships and built friendships that I thought I would never have with them. My bosses supported my efforts to move my career forward and were my references! And sure enough, the perfect job came and it had my name all over it, the Lord blessed me with the most perfect job. It was a new position created just for me, with all kinds of room for me to grow and do different challenging things! I absolutely LOVE my job and the pay increase! So blessed, all the praise and glory goes to Jesus 🙂

It’s been two and a half years and I have never been more content in my career…

