Have you experienced the “new” baggage check at the airports now-a-days, cha-cha-cha-ching, I can hear my husbands rant now… insert eye roll here. It can be costly if you’re taking everything with you as us women tend to do! We pack our whole life for a four day trip; let’s not even mention the shoes for every outfit.

Similar to the price of baggage checking is the cost of not checking your baggage when you meet Jesus, EXPENSIVE. Moving forward in your new life means leaving the baggage behind, checking it at the gate. For some of us or for some things that run deep, it can take us longer to release things or even recognize that they are a hindrance.

Our spiritual growth depends on the releasing of sin, past hurts, a not so modelled up bringing and strongholds in our mind that don’t allow new thinking. These things are detrimental to our moving forward into the plans that God has set out for us, to reaching our specific purposes and using the gifts He has given us. Who doesn’t want that?!

 So, how do we get there?

Simply put, spending time with JESUS. The more time we give Him, the closer we get and the more areas of our lives we give Him access to… the greater the move forward = the more bags checked. We can’t move forward without releasing the things of the past. This can be in the form of forgiveness, knowing you are forgiven of the sins you have committed, or forgiving others for the hurt they have caused in your life. It can be a father who was never there, or parents that were always yelling at each other and fighting. It can be a belief that “you will always be abandoned and therefore never have that spouse you dream of”.

Spending time in prayer, just talking to Jesus builds a trust and a bond that allows us to freely open ourselves and reveal these areas. It allows Him to come in a take that luggage, sometimes very heavy luggage from your hand where he can bear the weight and set you free from its burden.

I have had many, many occasions where a memory pops into my head of past situations where I’m reminded of hurt or pain or suffering. I have learned to bare the memory just long enough to start talking out loud to Jesus and releasing my thoughts, fear, pain whatever it is about that situation and allowing Jesus to take it from me. I believe that in my talking it out with Him, sometimes crying it out or even venting it out, I am releasing it into His care. I profess it to him in those words, “Lord, I am giving this over to you. I thank you that you are able to free me from this and carry the weight for me.”

2 Corinthians 5:17 ESV

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.

 Isaiah 43:18-19 ESV

“Remember not the former things, nor consider the things of old. Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it? I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert.

 Amen!

Happy travels and check that baggage 🙂

