Mark 4 Parable of the Sower

Which path are you on?

I look back on the path I have travelled to this point. My journey to salvation and then the road since… almost 10 years! How loudly this parable speaks to me now. Almost like a celebration (the real celebration comes when I make it to heaven)… the journey has had many ups and downs and I’m not even “there” yet.  I haven’t even arrived at my destiny and I wonder if my destiny is a journey all of its own.

15 “And these are the ones along the path, where the word is sown: when they hear, Satan immediately comes and takes away the word that is sown in them. 16 And these are the ones sown on rocky ground: the ones who, when they hear the word, immediately receive it with joy. 17 And they have no root in themselves, but endure for a while; then, when tribulation or persecution arises on account of the word, immediately they fall away.18 And others are the ones sown among thorns. They are those who hear the word, 19 but the cares of the world and the deceitfulness of riches and the desires for other things enter in and choke the word, and it proves unfruitful. 20 But those that were sown on the good soil are the ones who hear the word and accept it and bear fruit, thirtyfold and sixtyfold and a hundredfold.”

I can relate to all of these experiences, from a new beginner, I remember immediately being challenged as a new Christian and wavering in faith. Then hearing the word and being so joyful only to be worn down by trials and tribulations and again waver without a solid foundation. I recall a time being choked by life while trying to grow, derailing me from the narrow path and having to re-build stronger roots in good soil.

The point, PERSEVERE! Continue the journey, let the word run deep, refresh your soil, grow stronger roots. The enemy comes to steal, destroy and devour… don’t let him. As Jesus said “If anyone has ears to hear, let him hear.”

All seeds are intended to grow. How will you ever see its fruit if you give up?

I’m excited to see what the next 10 years unfold!

