Tags

, , , ,

6Dec2020

Spiritual Death, Sickness and Unforgiveness

The Lord showed me my heart:

Pete and I had been fighting all day yesterday and I had been grouchy and bitter the whole time towards my family. I prayed forgiveness before bed clearing my conscious. I didn’t want to forgive Pete, I even went as far as… “but Lord I’ve already forgiven him 70 x 7 times already”.

And then…

The Lord woke me at 3:33 am to impart wisdom regarding unforgiveness and bitterness.

He reminded me of pharaoh and the plagues and letting Gods people go… I was behaving the same way. I asked the Lord many questions and He reminded me that pharaoh suffered many consequences because of his hardened heart.

I wanted to hold onto my bitterness all day because I thought I was justified to do so and it hurt myself and those around me… I chose not to forgive Pete. I wanted Pete to make things right yesterday & apologize but he wouldn’t so I held onto the anger & frustration and it made for a horrible day… God can’t forgive me until I forgive others.

Pete and I keep running around this same pattern and the outcome is still the same. I’m expecting Pete to behave a certain way and he doesn’t so I get offended and bitter. Pete gets his back up and is argumentative and the cycle begins.

How do we break this cycle?

It seems to be out of control… but it’s not… it’s completely in my control. Forgiveness, that simple… or so it seems but sometimes it can be very hard to let go of our own righteousness. This is where we need to heed to Gods righteousness and allow His way of thinking and responding to soften our hearts and give forgiveness and ask forgiveness.

“For if you forgive others their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you, but if you do not forgive others their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses.”
‭‭Matthew‬ ‭6:14-15‬ ‭ESV‬‬

Pharaoh not only brought consequences for himself but for the nation… I brought consequences not only for myself but to my nation, my family. That’s a day wasted that I will never get back.

Being a leader in my home with unforgiveness brought consequences on not only to me but those under me… think about that for a minute… I affected those around me… Pharaoh affected all of the people in his influence. 😳

The quicker the forgiveness the better for everyone!